Technical Committee Meeting: ICZM Planning Framework | 11 January 2021

A virtual Technical Committee Meeting led by Dr. Rex Victor Cruz, Deputy Team Leader and ICZM/CCA Expert of the Study Team, was held via zoom application on 11 January 2021. The meeting focused on the details of the Integrated Coastal Zone Management Planning Framework for Manila Bay.

The discussions include key principles of the ICZM and its practical applications, major zones with Manila Bay, other planning considerations, and the ICZM implementation.

The meeting was attended by representatives from various agencies and organizations such as National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) Central and Region III, Urban Poor Associates (UPA), Reynulfo Juan Management Consultancy Services, River Basin Coordinating Office (RBCO), Philippine Coast Guard (PCG), Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Region IV-A (BFAR IVA) and III (BFAR III), EcoWaste Coalition, Mines and Geosciences Bureau (DENR-MGB), CO Multiversity, League of Cities of the Philippines (LCP), Biodiversity Management Bureau (DENR-BMB), Maritime Industry Authority (MARINA), World Wildlife Fund Philippines (WWF-PH), Department of Environment and Natural Resources-NCR (DENR-NCR), Department of Human Settlements and Urban Development (DHSUD), Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA), Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System Corp (MWSS), Philippine National Police-Maritime Group (PNP-MG), National Transmission Corporation (NTC), DOT-Intramuros Administration (DOT-IA), DENR Manila Bay Coordinating Office (DENR-MBCO), University of the Philippines Los Banos Foundation Inc. (UPLBFI), Department of Education (DepEd). Philippine Rural Reconstruction Movement (PRRM), from the local government units of Malolos City, Balanga City, Quezon City, and Pasig City. There are also representatives from the Netherlands Embassy, the Government of Netherlands, and the Deltares.

The presentation on the MBSDMP Overview is available here.

The presentation on the topic is available here.